Lust, Love, and a whole lot of Lies; Pride and Prejudice vs. The Ugly Truth

IMAG0779

Things have changed since the days of Jane Austin. Her books are slow going, with lots of details, and thick content. What are today’s romance novels like? 50 Shades of Grey? Not exactly romantic. I picked Pride and Prejudice and The Ugly Truth to compare, because they have an important factor in common. At the beginning of the movie, there is a strong dislike between the main characters. How these relationships play out, explains where all the chivalry has gone.

In both movies the man has it all. He thinks he can get any girl he wants. He has money, power, and thinks himself superior to others in more ways than one. The women, on the other hand, know what they want. They know what makes them happy, what they want to do with their lives, and what kind of guys they want.

In both movies, the men have big egos and they become complete jerks. Then, in comes the modern or old fashioned woman. To quickly sum it up, both guys fall for the girls in a remarkably similar way.

The Ugly Truth:
Mike: Especially when I’m in love with a psycho like you.
Abby: I am not a psycho!
Mike: I just told you that I loved you and all you heard was “psycho.” You’re the definition of neurotic.
Abby: No! The definition of neurotic is a person who suffers from…
Mike: Shut up! Yet again I just told you I’m in love with you and you’re standing here giving me a vocabulary lesson.
Abby: You’re in love with me. Why?
Mike: Beats the sh** out of me, but I am.

Now lets compare

Pride and Prejudice:
Mr. Darcy: I have fought against my better judgement, my family’s expectation, the inferiority of your birth, my rank and circumstances – all these things -but I am willing to put them aside and ask you to end my agony
Elizabeth: I don’t understand.
Mr. Darcy: I love you. Most ardently. Please do me the honor of accepting my hand.

(on a side note: imagine if a girl insulted a guy like that, ‘I know you have a small… but I love you anyways!’ Oh, how romantic?)

Now, these stories are not about the guys, but the girls, and how their reactions can change a person.

Ugly Truth: Abby jumps on Mike and starts making out with him after his ‘love confession’. All is forgiven, they have sex, roll to credits.

Pride and Prejudice: Mr. Darcy says his ‘love confession’, and Elizabeth says No. But she didn’t just say that, after some discussion she said ‘From the first moment I met you, your arrogance and conceit, your selfish disdain for the feelings of others made me realize that you were the last man in the world I could ever be prevailed upon to marry’.

I thinks it’s funny how men used to say, ‘I love you, will you marry me?’, and now they say, ‘I love you, will you sleep with me?’.

Now, the movie doesn’t quite capture what happened next. It’s explained better in the book, but Mr. Darcy changes. After their encounter, he actually started realizing how rude and egotistical he was. He then, started acting differently. Love is not a word, or a feeling, but an action. He became a different person as the book progresses. It wasn’t just a couple things. He became a respectful, kind, and good nature’d gentleman. He became chivalrous. This, was who Elizabeth fell in love with. Then they got married, and the scene ends with them saying how much they love each other, and how happy they are. There’s no bed anywhere in the shot.

Ugly Truth Message: Give a guy what he wants when he lusts after you. Just wait till he says he loves you, because no one else ever will.

Pride and Prejudice Message: Nothing is worth being in a bad relationship. Say no, even if he says he loves you. If he actually means it, he will change and become a better person.

So ladies, if you want a chivalrous man, be a girl worth being chivalrous for. They either have to treat you right, or you walk away. If you settle, you’ll just end up with that obnoxious, whiny guy who Elizabeth’s mother wanted her to marry first. Your worth the work, your worth the wait, and your worth the risk!

Good luck out there

This entry was posted in advice, Dating, emotions, relationships, What your looking for in a partner, your life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lust, Love, and a whole lot of Lies; Pride and Prejudice vs. The Ugly Truth

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    But the reality is that most people “settle” which accounts for many things including a high divorce rate.

    • Exactly! Too many people jump from relationship to relationship just out of fear of being alone. But I think it’s always more lonely when your with someone you’ve settled for, even worse if the person settled for you.

      • yourothermotherhere says:

        Oh my goodness, you are so right! If you settle, there’s always that nagging discontent in the back of your mind that actually is the reason for so many fights, and if you allow yourself to become attached to someone who “settled” for you, it’s really the same thing because it will always be in your mind that you’re not good enough. No settling for me!

Leave a Reply

